Broken

The shower is one of the safest places you can be in some people’s opinions. You are alone and you can take time to think about life. Just sit there and think about what is going on in your life or a tough situation that you are going through, try to recuperate. Then again, the shower could also be one of the most dangerous places one could be in. You might get carried away in your thoughts and they might overcome you. You may end up doing the one thing you never thought something so bad would lead to it. I have been going through a lot. I have been thinking about a lot of things lately. To me, the shower is one of the most amazing places because no one can disturb me or influence me in any way. Where no one can mess with my head or put thoughts or their own feelings in my head. Where I can think for myself. I am alone to just think about life. Alone. One of the only places and times I actually want to be alone. That is my thinking time. My time and place to escape from everyone. My time and place to escape from reality. Where no one can hurt me. But sadly, it is the one place I am free to hurt myself. My thoughts get carried away. They lead me down this great, deep, dark hole with nothing but darkness and deep despair lying at the bottom. Bad things have been running through my mind lately. When all hope seems lost and I feel that I have nothing left, my mind gets carried away. When I feel that I have nothing left and I cannot continue on anymore. My mind goes to cutting or even suicide because that seems to be how people fix their problems now-a-days. How they heal themselves. How they take away the mental pain; they just replace it with physical pain. I cannot tell you how many times within the past 3 months I have wanted to give up. How many times I have wanted just not to go on. It would be the easiest escape right? The easiest way out of things. The way to show that you have given up. Because truthfully, I’m getting to that point. People say I’m so strong and they’re so impressed with how well I’m taking all of this. Honestly, I’m constantly breaking inside. Little by little. That strong girl that people see is just an act. On the outside, I am this strong girl that does her best not to let anything get in her way or hurt her. On the inside, I’m scared. Terrified actually. I don’t know what to do about things anymore. I don’t know how to cope with things. I don’t know why or how to continue on. It may seem that I’m strong and I’m not having problems, but if one could see how broken I am inside they would never be able to return to the light. They wouldn’t be able to escape from the pain and suffering that they would witness. I’m hurting. Constantly. I was in the shower a few minutes ago. I was sitting there with the razor in my hand. Asking myself over and over if I would do it. If I had the courage to do it. I had been thinking about that moment a lot lately. Thinking that it would save me. That it would fix all of my problems. I sat there just thinking about it. I then thought to myself and came to my senses, “This isn’t a way out. This isn’t considered courage if you actually end up doing it. It’s considered cowardly. You are stronger than this. This isn’t the answer.” And now that I think a little more about it, I would not only be hurting myself, but the ones around me. I have felt that I have no one. That everyone just abandoned me and I’m in this big world alone with no one to comfort me. No one to hold me. No one to tell me that it’s okay when I’m down. But the truth is, I do have people. They are all around me. I just don’t realize it. They are constantly rooting me on urging and begging me go move forward. To stay strong. Though I still feel like I have no one, I know that I have my Heavenly Father that loves me if no one else does. If I have no one else to go to, then I always have him. To some people this may seem like a cry for attention but that was the last thing I wanted to do and I am truthfully sorry if you see this post that way. I am only letting my feelings out. If you don’t like what I post then feel free not to read it. I know I may seem like a typical teenager just hungry for attention and will do anything for it but I am not one of those people. I always heard of those people that cut themselves or committed suicide and constantly told myself that I would never be one of those people. I know that there are people in way worse situations than I am in right now but people are different. Everyone has their own pain tolerance level and I am repeatedly knocking the maximum line. This blog helps me so much. It helps me vent and get my feelings out in ways that people will hopefully not judge me or put me down for feeling a certain way. It’s my replacement for talking to my parents so they don’t have to judge me or become concerned about me when they have other things to worry about. It is one of the few places that actually makes me feel safe.

14 thoughts on “Broken

  1. You may not feel strong, but you are wise. You are using the only medium you know to facilitate the next step that moves you forward, instead of backward in a place of destruction.

    Your loss is real and heartbreaking. You share the same grief many other kids share when they lose their foundation. Remember “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (‭John‬ ‭16‬:‭33‬ NIV). Our ultimate foundation must be Jesus. Keep those razors out of the shower for awhile.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi! I spent some time reading through your blog.

      Good for you for getting your thoughts out. I think part of healing and coping is honing that ability to articulate your thoughts and feelings. And you have amazing self awareness for someone your age.

      It’s obvious you’ve had to grow up too fast – not only does it sound like your mom is making YOU responsible for her happiness, but inadvertently making you responsible for the mental and emotional well-being of your brothers. And you are right about anger.

      But you are not responsible for the happiness of either of your parent. Despite wishing you weren’t caught in the midst of a power and emotional struggle, it is where you’re at. So what are you going to do about it? You’ve already made a healthy choice to write. But perhaps think further along down the line – how can you use what you’ve learned and experienced to help others? Can you think of alternate ways to connect with those you wish you could attend school or Church with? Sometimes, what may seem like inopportune circumstances are the breeding grounds for creative and better solutions. So even in these times when it feels like someone is putting a roadblock in your path to success, remember that God is sovereign 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “Everyone has their own pain tolerance level and I am repeatedly knocking the maximum line”

    You have the words correct for a concept few people grasp. I too protected people from caring for me as I was, in that raw state of mind. Uncomfortable would be an understatement for some if they’d peeked in at a wrong moment.

    Like

  3. A shower is a great place to process thoughts. Keep writing and keep telling your story, leave a mark, take your pain and do something beautiful with it. Find someone you can rely on and tell them your goals, they will help you achieve it. Goodluck and if you wish to keep talking about this , feel free to contact me directly.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  4. I think most us can empathize with seeking out a safety zone since we all grapple with fear in some manner. I’m in my fifties yet it seems my fears merely took on different forms from what frightened me earlier in life.

    Using the shower for decompression time has value. Having a safe place as you mentioned where you can take a moment to drop your guard is helpful. I also think when we acknowledge there are certain things we can’t change then it frees us to look for healthy alternative choices. Not that it becomes easy but feeling stress about something only does us harm. Better to focus energy on what we can influence in a positive way. As always though, it’s easier said than done. Keep up the writing. Expressing yourself is important. You have a voice which means you can and will be heard. 🙂

    Like

  5. thank you so much for liking my new written post..i was a runaway myself (a longer time ago..and i know and remember how desperate i felt..) fortunately i came across people that did understood me. i will take time to read your posts and leave a reply that is more personal ❤ love yourself and make the best of this day ❤

    Like

  6. Hi. Saw that you liked my recent blog post. I can imagine why after reading a little of yours. Didn’t have time to read too many of your entries but wanted you to know I am going to include you in my prayer intentions tonight. If you’ve read any of my blog you know that modern Christian music is a big part of my prayer life, and my life in general. That said, here’s my prayer for you this night, compliments of Josh Wilson: http://youtu.be/New8i_eX3x8

    Have a great weekend. You are loved.

    Ray – The SPARK Blog

    Like

  7. Very powerful post and I can relate to both your content and your style of writing. I really hope you get through this. Keep writing because you seem so good at it and I truly believe it will help you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Stay safe xo. I admire that you can be so open in this post and share your deep thoughts, even the darker ones. You are so so precious and please hang in there and know you are loved by many. The baby celebrated at Christmas time grew up and died in your place to give you freedom and eternal life. Hope one day you will find your hope in Him. His name is Jesus. He loves you infinitely.

    Like

  9. Making a positive and unselfish choice is perhaps the greatest use of power as opposed to choosing a fatal negative one. Most people think that the word unselfish pertains to a relationship choice which includes others. It also can be viewed as an unselfish act in the relationship which exist in the self. Selfishness is an act which for the most part, brings a benefit only to you. An true unselfish act brings a benefit to yourself AND the benefit of others experiencing a good, forgiving and loving life with you. That is power. Perhaps, this is also what we experience in a true relational spirit of the trinity. It is transcendent. This kind of power brings light and life to your challenge. We are all very different; however, share similar dynamics during our earlier years brought on by many struggles, some direct and some indirect. Keep up the good work at one, communicating, two, not being afraid to take care of yourself, regardless of what others may think of you. As a result, you bring others into your life to experience acceptance together-just as you realized in your private time.

    Like

  10. I remember having thoughts about suicide when I was in my early twenties. One of the main reasons I did not act on those thoughts was because I knew how much it would devastate my parents. I’m so thankful that I lived, because things did get better, and I’ve had a wonderful life, full of ups and downs, with an unexpected heartache of divorce in my 40s, but even that worked out, in time, for the best.God had a plan. God has a plan for you too! One thing that stands out in this post, is your realization that “the truth is, I do have people. They are all around me. I just don’t realize it. They are constantly rooting me on urging and begging me go move forward. To stay strong.” Sometimes we don’t know how to stay strong, so we have to ask for help. It’s a very good thing for you to express your feelings and thoughts in this blog, and I hope you will also talk to some of those people who care about you deeply, and let them know you need help. It’s okay to do that. You are in my prayers tonight. More importantly, you are deeply loved by God who has big plans for you!

    Like

Leave a comment